Going “Into the Storm” in Atlanta with Members of Richard Armitage US

Artwork by Ann Boudreau

Artwork by Ann Boudreau

I should begin by saying that since it was announced that Richard Armitage would star in “Unnamed Tornado Project/Category 6/Black Sky/Into the Storm,” I planned to see it only because RA was in it. I am not really a disaster film fan. But I should’ve trusted RA. Because I’ve never been so wrong in all my life.

Accompanied by a gleeful group of Richard Armitage US members, I was able to attend a preview screening in Atlanta, thanks to Into the Storm Producer Todd Warner (who’s a fun tweeter) and the generosity of Warner Brothers Pictures. I must be a Method film-fan, because – despite the stormy, rainy conditions of the evening – I insisted I was fine without my umbrella. Hence, I am the drenched shooter, not a member, of this photo…

Some of the Richard Armitage US Atlanta Screening Squad

Some of the Richard Armitage US Atlanta Screening Squad

We were included in a pre-screening event, which included the  IntoTheStorm Oculus VR, introduced the week before at ComicCon. It’s a 4-D individual experience, experienced by Marlise Boland of The Anglophile Channel. Sadly, there was a massive line, as there was for the opportunity to Tweet for Treats, so we had an hors d’oeuvre or two, one – or more of us – snagged a free libation, and then RA US (aka Mother Hen) hustled everyone back to the theater to ensure we had good seats. (Atlanta screenings are famously well-attended.)

RA US Atlanta RArmy Squad members, I encourage you to add your own thoughts about the experience in the comments!!!

So we got our seats, all right. Terrific seats. And then – after two trailers (no BOTFA, though ) – the movie began. Reviews are embargoed until FRIDAY! So that’s all I can say about the film now. Except we saw THIS scene:

RA and Sarah Wayne Callies meet in unusual circumstances...

RA and Sarah Wayne Callies meet in unusual circumstances…

And we saw THIS scene:

The Fuller Family After Going Into the Storm

The Fuller Family After Going Into the Storm

AND THIS SCENE…

Richard Armitage US Special Correspondent gets this shot of the man himself on the (Black) Carpet of the "Into the Storm" NYC Premiere!

Richard Armitage US Special Correspondent Sara Alize Cross gets this shot of the man himself on the Red – well, Black, actually – Carpet of the “Into the Storm” NYC Premiere!

OOPSIE! No, we did NOT see that last scene at the Atlanta screening. THAT shot was at the Into the Storm NYC premiere.

But more about that tomorrow!

You may also follow Richard Armitage US
on FacebookTwitter and Tumblr.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Richard Armitage US

Richard Armitage US is a respectful US-based blog with a sense of humor and POV, and is designed for fans of British-born actor Richard Crispin Armitage, star of – among other productions – North & South, The Vicar of Dibley Wedding Special, Robin Hood, SPOOKS (MI-5 in the US), Chris Ryan’s Strike Back. He also starred as Thorin Oakenshield in Peter Jackson’s adaptation of JRR Tolkien’s The Hobbit trilogy, and was nominated for an Olivier Award for his work as John Proctor in Yael Farber's production of The Crucible at the Old Vic. Upcoming films include Urban and the Shed Crew, Sleepwalker, Pilgrimage, being released in the US in August (2017) and Brain on Fire, based on Susannah Cahalan's memoir. He recently completed his arc on the NBC series Hannibal as Francis Dolarhyde, also known as "The Red Dragon" and the first season of the EPIX series "Berlin Station." He is currently in Europe shooting S2, which premieres October 15 in the States. Next, "My Zoe" with Julie Delpy directing and co-starring Delpy and Daniel Brühl. Although this page is US-based, we encourage RA’s fans from across the globe to enlist in the RArmy, and join us here, on Facebook, Tumblr and Twitter!

3 responses to “Going “Into the Storm” in Atlanta with Members of Richard Armitage US”

  1. leonardamy says :

    When RA US asked me a few weeks ago if I would like to attend a pre-screening to Into the Storm, I ecstatically said, “YES! YES! YES!” What could be better than a road trip from Nashville to Atlanta to see a pre-screening of a movie I had been hearing about for what seems like ages? Well, the film did not disappoint. I enjoyed every moment. I jokingly said that “I was blown away!” but that is no joke! I also found that I was asking myself throughout the movie, “What would you do in that situation?” I don’t know because I think in real life decisions would be made moment by moment and hopefully I would make the right ones. But when Mother Nature is in control, do you really have any choices other than to just hang on?

    I can’t wait to see Into the Storm again this Friday with friends and I encourage everyone to see it this weekend. Thank you Todd Garner and Warner Brothers for the passes and the libation that was quickly sent down the hatch before ‘Mother Hen’ clucked us out the door! Thank you RA US for the invitation to a wonderful experience. I cannot tell you enough how thrilled I was to be there.

Leave a Reply

