UPDATED! HUGE NEWS: RA’S GOT A BRAND NEW GIG & THERE ARE WOMEN IN THE CAST!

RA will play Chop’, a 37 year old, disillusioned, ex-social worker also living on society’s margins, on one of Leeds’ roughest estates.

RA will play Chop’, a 37 year old, disillusioned, ex-social worker also living on society’s margins, on one of Leeds’ roughest estates.

Thanks to Richard Armitage Net for this very welcome news item: Richard has been cast in Urban and the Shed Crew, a Blenheim Films production, which has just started filming in Leeds in the UK. The filming will take place over the next 6 weeks. This film is adapted from the best-selling novel of the same name, written by Bernard Hare. Richard will play ‘Chop’, an ex-social worker who befriends the eponymous character ‘Urban’.

Also, check out the film’s Facebook page, and the Urban and the Shed Crew website.

Read all about it on the Richard Armitage Net website!

AND there are women in the cast! Thanks to Armitage Army @ Richard Armitage Central for this casting news!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Richard Armitage US

Richard Armitage US is a respectful blog with a sense of humor and POV, and is designed for fans of British-born actor Richard Crispin Armitage, star of – among other productions – North & South, The Vicar of Dibley Wedding Special, Robin Hood, SPOOKS (MI-5 in the US), Chris Ryan’s Strike Back. He also starred as Thorin Oakenshield in Peter Jackson’s adaptation of JRR Tolkien’s The Hobbit trilogy, and was nominated for an Olivier Award for his work as John Proctor in Yael Farber's production of The Crucible at the Old Vic. Upcoming films include Urban and the Shed Crew, Sleepwalker, Pilgrimage and Brain on Fire, based on Susannah Cahalan's memoir. He recently completed his arc on the NBC series Hannibal as Francis Dolarhyde, also known as "The Red Dragon." Although this page is US-based, we encourage RA’s fans from across the globe to enlist in the RArmy, and join us here, on Facebook, Tumblr and Twitter!

26 responses to “UPDATED! HUGE NEWS: RA’S GOT A BRAND NEW GIG & THERE ARE WOMEN IN THE CAST!”

  1. Servetus says :

    Reblogged this on Me + Richard Armitage and commented:
    Comments there, please!

  2. mujertropical says :

    Reblogged this on My Sort of Bloke and commented:
    It’s about time!!!! My Missing Person poster worked! ;D

  3. saraleee says :

    Squee! That’s so exciting!

  4. jazzbaby1 says :

    Halle-freaking-lujah!

  5. Perry says :

    Reblogged this on Armitage Agonistes and commented:
    OMG, I didn’t even read this yet.

  6. Perry says :

    Wow – this is fabulous. I just commented elsewhere ( oh, on my own blog – I forgot to close comments and refer -sorry, will do). Anyway, I just commented elsewhere that I hope Amazon is ready for a deluge on this book.

    • Richard Armitage US says :

      I KNOW! LOL. I just ordered it from Amazon, used, from the UK. I’m eager to read it!

      • Perry says :

        This is amazing. And we will have an announcement soon I gather.Now that the news is out. But I think the link to the Facebook Page is the wrong page. I found a different one through a different search – the director.

        • Richard Armitage US says :

          Really, Perry? It looks pretty official to me. It has a photo of the crew on the first day of filming and lots of info about the culture and the urban slang we’ll see and hear in the film. (I didn’t see anything on Candida Brady’s page. )

        • Perry says :

          Now it’s official. RaCentral tweeted and I posted her tweet. Things even don’t move at all, or they move really ast in Armitage world. Check out my latest post or RACentral on twitter. He is named.

  7. Helen says :

    Fantastic news! Sounds like a good meaty role for him (and we’ll get grubby and stubbly Armitage, yay! ) 🙂

    • Richard Armitage US says :

      He will be amazing. The character sounds like just the thing he’s been looking for: someone he hasn’t played before, and will allow him to really stretch his acting muscles. Plus, What a lovely time to be there, AND in close proximity to his family. I’m so happy for him!

  8. fedoralady says :

    Reblogged this on the armitage effect and commented:
    Richard’s got himself a new role–sounds gritty! Thanks to Richard Armitage US for the heads up!

  9. Sloan says :

    This is great news… gritty role in an independent film. Yay!

  10. Ms Mel says :

    I just bought the book on Amazon! I don’t know how distribution works for these kinds of movies, but I hope we will get to see it in the US.

  11. Joanna says :

    What can I say…YAY! Thanks for the heads up 🙂

  12. LostinaGoodbook says :

    I read this book a couple of years ago – it is amazing, very hard-hitting and a very original voice. This will be a great part for Richard, very different from Thorin or anything he has done recently. I’m so happy about this announcement. I can’t wait to see this film. (Left this comment first on Armitage Agonistes, so repeating here. I was so excited by the news I didn’t notice it was a re-blog!)

    • Richard Armitage US says :

      I’ve ordered the book from the UK, and can’t wait to get it. It DOES sound like the perfect role for him, as he told The Anglophile Channel that the “next stop” would be to be unrecognizable as a character without all the gear. From what I’ve read about the book, the range required of him for Chop is going to really show people what he can do. I’m confident he will blow not only his fans, but also the industry away.

Leave a Reply

